Shelter

shelter sign

painted sign “Shelter” on neighbor’s window

How we treat those who are some of the most vulnerable, such as homeless people and particularly homeless children in this country says something about who all of us are as a nation.

What difference does it make to the dead, the orphans, and the homeless, whether the mad destruction is wrought under the name of totalitarianism or the holy name of liberty or democracy?” 

Mohandas Gandhi

This is the time of the year when we give. Sometimes that giving may mean just looking a homeless person in the eyes and giving them a smile, instead of looking away.

food growing in garden

food growing in community garden

It might mean giving a can of soup or food to a food drive if you are able.

We think sometimes that poverty is only being hungry, naked, and homeless. The poverty of being unwanted, unloved, and uncared for is the greatest poverty. We must start in our own homes to remedy this kind of poverty.

 – Mother Teresa

child's hat and gloves

child’s hat and gloves

It could be donating clothing to keep a child warm.

Watch this video from November 2014 about the number of homeless children in this country.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/11/17/child-homelessless-us_n_6169994.html

Now that we know the truth, what can each one of us do about the homelessness of children?

As full disclosure prior to writing this blog, I was not aware that millions of children were actually homeless in the USA. I was stunned by this report. Just yesterday I found an organization which is helping homeless children and their families where I live, and I will support their efforts.

Here is a poem written by women who lived in a family shelter in Canada.

The Family Shelter Poem

By Anna Maria, Leona & Sandy, 2007 (Residents)

I came to the shelter seeking for help,
Needing a roof over my head,
Hoping to leave all my trouble behind,
And looking to find peace of mind.

In the family shelter I love to be,
feeling so good deep inside of me.

I make many friends and we play together,
We share our story and we care for each other,
Sometimes I feel that this is my home,
I don’t have to fear for I am not alone.

In the family shelter I love to be,
feeling so good deep inside of me.

There’s so many people from different places,
Speaking different languages and from different races,
I know someday soon we are going to go home,
But a piece of my heart will always be at the family shelter.

In the family shelter I love to be,
feeling so good deep inside of me.

Can you share any ideas that have worked in your cities?

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

