A Spirit of Generosity

For me generosity is about giving. It can be financially, as well as giving from the heart (no money involved).

open hand

open hand of giving

I have always deeply respected people like Paul Newman who founded his Newman’s Own Foundation in 1982. Since it started the organization has given over $400 million to thousands of charities around the world. Bill Gates and Warren Buffet are other people with wealth whose philanthropy and generosity for the whole world has been and continues to be phenomenal. Their generosity is NOT about controlling politics, rather it is about truly helping people in dire straights or changing bad situations. I am very grateful for their generosity.

I do NOT fit into the Newman’s, Gates’, or Buffet’s category of wealth! However, I can give from the heart.

heart from necklace

Giving from the heart

What does that mean in action?  I can give an hour of my time to an organization that I know is helping people. For example, I  read with children for an hour a week at a public school. Or I help a neighbor or friend who needs a ride to the grocery store or to a doctor’s appointment. It is simple. I can CARE. We can CARE. If we are able, we can give a little of our time.

“True generosity is an offering; given freely and out of pure love. No strings attached. No expectations. Time and love are the most valuable possessions you can share.”

– Suze Orman

I’ve noticed as a people we seem to have much greed for stuff in the USA. In the past I’ve gotten caught up in it, too. When we buy more, then we have to work harder and longer hours and have less free time because we have to pay for all the stuff we thought we needed! In the USA we have been speaking and writing about this very thing since the 1830s. Then it was called materialism; today we call it consumerism.

“There are other measures of self-respect for a man/ woman than the number of clean shirts he/she puts on every day.”

– Ralph Waldo Emerson

I know I’m tired of it. Stuff and buying the latest whatever does NOT do much for me any more. I respect that we all have choices, and that is everyone’s right to buy what they want. I’m wondering whether the tide of buy, buy, buy is turning for some or even a lot of Americans?  Have we switched that tide of buy more to GIVE more of our time to others, including animals, and to our own families?

Please take this poll and be heard.  Is the spirit of generosity alive and well?

Thank you for giving your opinion.

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

