Graffiti with a Purpose

I love art! To me art reminds us humans who we are- both the good and the ugly.  To me graffiti can be great street art. Wandering around where I live I have found graffiti that says something to me.

Graffiti

Graffiti 1

Much of my life I have worried about a lot of things, way too many things. At times some of my worries came to pass. While I was worrying, I surely did not feel good about my life or myself.  Usually I worried about things over which I had no control, or sometimes they were problems that were some one else’s business! Therefore, this graffiti made me laugh at myself, and it gave me some relief.

Graffiti 2

Graffiti 2

This graffiti speaks to me because I didn’t get to ask  questions growing up. That was a new “brain” muscle I have had to learn to exercise: how to question anything. The “Keep calm” part I like too,  as I have learned to value serenity greatly. Sometimes it takes time for me to get there, but I have found programs and tools of living that are supporting me to regain my serenity.  P.S. I’m glad I photographed this graffiti when I did because recently the fence where it had been had been white washed.

graffiti 3

Graffiti 3

I’m not sure what all of this graffiti is saying, but the “Hear” part spoke to me. For much of my life, I have been a poor listener.  That got me into trouble along with my being arrogant about “what I knew”. I did NOT want to hear what others had to say, so I and some others I loved have had some consequences which were unpleasant.  It was a great lesson in humility though too acknowledge how poorly I had listened and try to be more open to listening today.

The now well known Graffiti artist from Bristol, England  had this to say:

Sometimes I feel so sick at the state of the world I can’t even finish my second apple pie.”    –  Banksy,  pseudonym

graffiti 4

bonus Graffiti

I called this bonus graffiti because I got it as an early Mother’s Day gift. My daughter is a photographer. She photographed this in LA years ago.  This is street art that I find beautiful because it reminds all of us that we can at least be beautiful on the inside if we choose with how we behave on this planet. Sometimes it takes years to change old unkind habits and defenses, depending on the childhood you had. I have found that this journey has been rewarding, and I’m still in process.

I’m thankful for street art- graffiti is my good friend and teacher.

If you still don’t get this blog or even if you do,  please watch this TED talk from JR:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

