Love is Love

light on Spencer's Butte

My Source

My Source is loving. It brings love and light to this world. I believe the open, loving heart is what my source wants for all of us. Love expands me and gives all of us new possibilities.

“We are born to love.  Love is our mother.”   – Rumi

heart from necklace

The open, loving heart

Looking back history through, I ruminate and see where love overcame adversity or hate.

*     When slavery ended after the Civil War after years of the bloodiest war this country has ever known, love conquered hate. Humanity won. Slavery was a crime against humanity. I feel we Americans have still not talked about even this war, and there is still residue from it.

*   The 13th, 14th, and 15 Amendments to the Constitution assured slavery would end, and the rights and privileges for all Americans, no matter what race they were should be granted.

*  The 19th Amendment to the Constitution granted women the right to vote in

*     When the Civil Rights Acts of 1964 and 1968 as well as the Voting Rights Act of 1965 ended discrimination of ALL people of color in the USA. Love and humanity in this country expanded for all.

*    The U. S. Supreme Court made interracial marriage legal everywhere in the USA on June 12, 1967 with the Loving vs Virginia case.

*    The U. S. Supreme Court made marriage possible for LGBT people June 26, 2015.

In every case, I feel love has reigned supreme. Humanity in this country was trying to take a step forward. There were also periods of resistance, when those who did not agree with the Amendments balked from the law of the land. The Jim Crow Laws in the South and elsewhere practically negated the 13th, 14th and 15 Amendments for a years.   Change is challenging.

dogwood flowers

Dogwood flowers

I wish for my heart to remain open like the Dogwood flower. I wish for my heart to continue to embrace all people.  Do I have a right to tell another human being who he or she should love? That is very personal. I feel that is NOT my RIGHT. I would be infringing on another person’s personal freedom if I dictate to him/her the most personal thing in his/her life. Besides, is that person personally hurting or injuring me by what he/she feels and who he/she loves? NO. I do NOT know what is in another person’s heart. They love who they love. I feel it is NOT my business to interfere with who they love.

Who am I to judge what they feel and experience?

 

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

