Standing Together

I feel really happy when I am a part of something where people are working together and collaborating for the purpose of a common goal. I call that “Standing Together”.

trees connected

trees standing together

For us humans when I have worked together on worthwhile projects to see them come to fruition, it has warmed my heart. I first experienced this years ago working with an organization I volunteered with.  I felt elated when we succeeded in the goal. Even though separately each one of us was not always “perfect” in what we said and did. The goal had a higher purpose and that goal required me to stretch to my better self.

“It is when we start working together that the real healing takes place…it’s when we start spilling our sweat and not our blood.”  David Hume (18th Century English philosopher)

leaning trees

leaning trees standing together

Most recently I was inspired by the  Pluto fly by project. I was blown away that pictures of Pluto were sent from three BILLION miles away back to earth. The fact that frozen Pluto has a “heart” on it says something beautiful to me. That project was accomplished by working together, standing together. If you wish to see more than just a few photos here is a very good brand new NOVA project called “Chasing Pluto”. 1. Go to http://www.pbs.org

2.  Choose NOVA or type in: video.pbs.org/video/2365527017/

The most inspiring  example of humanity working together and collaborating from all backgrounds in my lifetime was the American Civil Rights Movement of the 1960s. Since I lived on the west coast at that time, I only experienced blatant racism from TV pictures as a young teenager. However, I also found out that the small town where I lived in California in the 1960s blatantly and legally barred African Americans from living within the city limits.  As I have aged, I have learned how inspiring the Civil Rights Movement was for all of humanity and how brilliant and great Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. was and still is. I am still inspired by what he wrote, spoke, and how he lived.

“Now we have black and white elected officials working together. Today we have gone beyond just passing laws. Now we have to create a sense that we are one community, one family. Really we are the American family.”   John Lewis

John Lewis would understand this because he was a part of the Civil Rights Movement. The rest of us need to get this, as problems are exposed of institutionalized racism in American police forces everywhere, in our prison system everywhere, and by individuals who have murdered in Charleston, South Carolina. Now we CANNOT be  in denial any more.  All of us of all colors need to understand that you and I still have work to do. Standing together, I believe in us. You and I have to believe in ourselves, care, and be willing to do something positive and life affirming about the racism  that still persists in our beautiful country.

This is how universal the anthem sung during and after the Civil Rights Movement has become on our planet:

more trees standing together

more trees standing together

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Standard

One thought on “Standing Together

  1. scott lubbock says:

    AMEN. I AM INSPIRED BY THE STRENGTH, COURAGE AND BRILLIANCE OF INDIVIDUALS WHO NEVER GIVE UP. I AM ABSOLUTELY AMAZED BY THE ACHIEVEMENTS OF THOSE WHO WORK AND STAND TOGETHER.

    Like

Leave a Reply

