Late Bloomers

Definition: A Late Bloomer is a person who achieves proficiency in some skill or field later than is to be “expected”.

sun flowers

Sun Flowers bloom late in Summer

I would consider myself a late bloomer because I started teaching in my forties. It took me a while to settle on a career, and I was very happy teaching. I tried teaching about 8 years earlier, but was not comfortable teaching then. We live in a country where you are “expected” to know your strengths and then go out and begin in your field at the end of college or in our twenties. When I was in college, I thought I wanted to be a business woman!

“I’ll tell you, there is nothing better in life than being a late bloomer. I believe that success can happen at any age.”   – Salma Hayek

pea plant

Late in summer blooming pea plant

In our obsession with youth in this country, people who are late bloomers are sometimes looked down on, which I think is foolish. Being a late bloomer is not a new phenomenon.

Here is a website with some of the late bloomers in history:

fundersandfounders.com/latebloomers-people-who-succeeded/

black-eyed susans

Late blooming Black-eyed Susans

“I’m such a late bloomer.”  – Ang Lee (Director)

What is great to find out from brain science is the plasticity of the human brain. We humans can continue to learn through out our lifetimes. Since we live longer, we could have several passions in our lifetimes. Thus, we could even be late bloomers in more than one field!

This article from Psychology Today discusses the brain’s plasticity.

https://www.psychologytoday.com/…/iage/…/brain-plasticity/

crepe myrtle

late blooming Crepe Myrtle

As all these flowers bloom in the latter part of summer, they add their magic to where we live. I am very grateful for these late blooming flowers, as I am for all humans who are late bloomers.

Here’s to all the world’s late bloomers!

another sun flower

Another late blooming Sun Flower

Standard

2 thoughts on “Late Bloomers

  1. scott lubbock says:

    I like the idea that, within your description of the late bloomer and the brains plasticity, I can aspire to be a perennial.

    Like

Leave a Reply

