Relaxation

black cat 1

lounging black cat

Cats seem to have relaxation down. Since this cat wanders around where I live, she might also be begging for food, but she looks like she’s relaxing to me.

As it turns out for us humans, we need to get relaxation down, too. Stress is one of the major causes for many of our diseases. Relaxation is important for our mental health, too. I can attest to that myself.

Here is a website you might like to visit: http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net/conditions/rest-relaxation-and-exercise

Meditation is really important way for me to relax. Since I have back problems and have fallen sometimes, I have noticed at times that I avoided it. Even though every time I meditate or “sit”, I feel better. Sometimes I have had to meditate lying down. Usually I sit in a chair because I am unable to sit cross legged. During the last few years, I have worked on meditating more. I started with 10 minutes about five days a week, and now am trying for 20 minutes at least four days a week. The point is I need to be kind to myself and think I’m like the cat in this next photo.

A few weeks ago, I had to wait in the laundry room where I live while the washing machine finished its cycle. Instead of pacing around the laundry room as I have done in the past, I stood up and focused on a kiddie sock and meditated for 8 minutes. We can meditate anywhere!

There are different ways to meditate. I had to find the way that worked for me. I also regularly meditate with a small community at least once a week.

black and white cat 1

another lounging cat

This cat is a real head turner. When I saw it rolling in the dirt, I smiled broadly and talked to it. On another day I tried to find him/her again and was talking to him/her when one of my neighbors glared at me. Doctor Dolittle talked to animals; I can, too! At least I don’t expect them to answer me.

black and white cat 2

black and white cat rolling happily

This photo reminds me that I may not be able to roll in the dirt, but I can laugh out loud with my friends and family when we are together. Why hold back when I’m happy? Laughter is definitely another way we humans can relax and connect with each other and can even help ourselves to heal.

Here is an article about the healing power of laughter:

http://www.helpguide.org/articles/emotional-health/laughter-is-the-best-medicine.htm

I just returned from a trip and visited my family and saw two cats I do know, my daughter’s cats. I was going to photograph her cats, but my daughter had just taken a great photo of Sofie relaxing on top of the sofa. Thank you, Sofie, for showing us how to relax.

cat relaxing

Sofie, the quintessential lounge cat

Standard

3 thoughts on “Relaxation

  1. Scott Lubbock says:

    I hope these calming and focusing practices have served you well during your California visit. I look forward to hearing about it, my friend. Scott

    Like

Leave a Reply

