Transitions

Where I live the fall leaves are just beginning to turn.  The trees are making their yearly transition as they do every fall.

tree 1

first tree transitioning to fall leaf color

Times of transition for us humans are very uncertain and don’t always flow so easily. Recently, I visited family and  saw drastic changes in my mother.  I was a witness, and at times I let go of the sorrow I felt, but then I just sucked up my tears.  I needed to let go like the trees let go of their leaves in the fall. I needed to cry some more and sit with my own sorrow about the changes I had seen. I was resisting acknowledging what I had witnessed.

pile of leaves

pile of leaves

This is an informative article about why we humans, cry and how important it is to cry for our mental and physical health.

http://www.webmd.com/balance/features/why-we-cry-the-truth-about-tearing-up?page=4

tree 2

another tree in transition in fall

We humans have so many challenges with change: losing or changing jobs, moving, divorce, illness, financial issues, deaths of friends and family members, war, and even radically changing weather. There is a lot of suffering in the human condition. I am glad I have found groups of people who have had similar problems to my own and friends who are supportive. I also live where I can be around nature which helps ground me and shows me beauty. Nature has this way of reminding of me why I am here spiritually, and that I am connected to all that is around me.

Here is an article that goes into more depth about this:

http://www.takingcharge.csh.umn.edu/enhance-your-wellbeing/environment/nature-and-us/how-does-nature-impact-our-wellbeing

tree 3

third tree transitioning

So often in the past, I tried to make transitions on my own and did not ask for the help I needed. Yes, I complained to a few friends, but I only managed to prolong my own suffering.  Today, I am glad I have reached out to spiritual resources in my community. For example: 12-step programs, therapists or counselors, and a spiritual community, which gives me practices to accept with more grace the transitions I am experiencing. Also having faith in my source has added to my peace of mind. I have choices now on how I can deal with the transitions in my life.

Asking for help is not a weakness, but a great way to take care of ourselves. Here is an article from the New York Times:

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/07/07/business/07shortcuts.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

tree 4

Fourth transitioning tree

Standard

Leave a Reply

