Thinking with My Heart

What do I mean by “thinking with my heart”? I mean I have found if I feel first and then think, I make better choices for myself. I am a happier person. I care more about myself and others when I live from this space. I feel more present in my life, not just going through the motions.

My “automatic” thinking tends to be darker, more fearful, more competitive, and less creative. My automatic thinking came often from fear and expecting the worst. When I go to my automatic thinking, I am less open and see fewer possibilities for myself and others.

Look out at our world. Would it be a better place for all of us, if we felt what we needed to before we reacted to situations and conversations? Would we be more compassionate? I believe we would. What I have noticed about myself is that I like myself more when I say something or act in a more open and generous way towards others. This takes effort. I have to reflect longer before I respond to people. Instead of making snap judgments, I take longer to assess what is going on before I respond to something or take action.

“The heart has its own language. The heart knows a hundred thousand ways to speak.” -Rumi

This is a TEDx Talk which speaks about this subject by Magdalena Bak-Maier:

Naturally, there have been times when I have felt angry, and that was an appropriate reaction to what was happening. Thinking with my heart does not mean denying what is happening or has happened in the past. I can return to thinking with my heart once I have processed whatever I need to.

Another huge factor that keeps me thinking with my heart is I need to check in with “my source”. My source is a force I believe connects me with every other living thing. This source helps to guide me towards thinking from a more loving space filled with compassion for all including myself. What is great today, I have more choices how I respond when I think with my heart.

“Our days are HAPPIER when we give people a bit of our heart rather than a piece our mind.”

Thank you, Pinterest, for this saying.

Standard

Leave a Reply

