Personal Freedom

More than 35 years ago when I was writing a cookbook of international, family recipes, and recipes from friends, it gave me focus, purpose, and freedom during a hard time in my life. Because I believe that freedom is an inside job, writing something creative has helped me again and again regain my own personal freedom.

Since Independence Day, a lot has been recently said about freedom, and it often has been tied to fighting for freedom and flag waving. Since I am a peace activist, fighting wars has been something I have opposed for at least 30 years, particularly when I deemed the war was unnecessary. For me, seeking my own personal freedom has been a part of my life’s journey.

However, our own personal freedom, so we can face each new day, is probably different for each of us. It’s writing, for me, it may be doing art, singing, reading, playing music or instruments, prayer, meditating, taking a walk, or even exercising that helps you regain your own personal freedom.

“Books were my pass to PERSONAL FREEDOM. I learned to read at age three and soon discovered there was a whole world to conquer that went beyond my farm in Mississippi.”
– Oprah Winfrey

That book I wrote over 35 years ago, is published now. See the photo. Since I had to retype all of the recipes and the entire book, and not just scan it onto my computer, I had to decide whether the project of this cookbook was worth it. I also had to retest many recipes, because ingredients had change. I slept on whether it was worth it to put “Sane and Savory Cookbook” out into the world. I concluded “YES!” I added new knowledge about nutrition for the 21 st century and added even more recipes. While I was retyping the book, I also struggled and even became ill because I did not realize at that time that I was also triggering what was happening in my life more than 35 years ago. That included very difficult life changes for me to learn to accept.

This Tedx Talk shows a very broad and thoughtful view of Creating Freedom for ourselves. I concur with Raoul Martinez’s viewpoint and found it very insightful.

When I finished the retyping the cookbook in about May 2016 and handed it over to my daughter to upload on Amazon.com, I didn’t realize until then that this book had actually contributed to my “personal freedom” so many years ago.

“For in the end, freedom is a personal and lonely battle; and one faces down fears of today so that those of tomorrow might be engaged.”

– Alice Walker

What do you do that helps you replenish and sustain your personal freedom?

Standard

Leave a Reply

