Standing Together in a BIG WAY

img_2528

This is the sign I carried to the Women’s March where I live in Oregon. The rain soaked through it, and several times people asked to see what it said. I saw others present with the exact same sign as mine, and a young girl was carrying another famous quote of Dr. Martin Luther King on her sign:

“We must learn to live together as brothers (and sisters) or perish together as fools.”

Yes, January 21, 2017 was a big day! I had the great pleasure of being part of a local Women’s March in Oregon. No one anticipated the incredible turn out. We could not hear speakers. It was pouring down rain. None of it mattered. We checked out each other’s signs, and laughed at some. We all just smiled because we got to hang out together. All kinds of people were there: women, men, children, GBLT folks, people in wheelchairs, bikers, young, old, even babies, Asians, Latinos, Blacks, Native people, East Indians, people from the Middle East and of Arabic background, did I leave out anyone? Oh, they were present, too. Religion did not matter, nor did social status nor wealth. That is the point. Everyone was welcome. We were welcome to stand together knowing that ALL of us deserved Equal Rights and Respect.

I went by myself, and ran into friends who were at the gathering place. When we talked, we kept sharing how inspired we felt. The entire program had to be changed, because there was no venue we could walk close enough to the meeting place to where all of us would fit to listen to speakers. Nobody seemed angry about it. While I was standing for nearly an hour with several thousand people, I only saw one police officer.

While we waited before the speeches to start that we couldn’t hear, a mylar pink heart balloon blew up into the sky. It rose and rose. That balloon was apropos for the day. Our hearts were joined together. It was a day of ONENESS, and you readers know how much like talking about that.

After nearly an hour standing and there was no obvious march happening, I left the two friends I had met at the meeting place and decided to walk back to my car, more than a half mile away. I was under the impression that I would be walking with a few people back to my car. No, I ended up walking with a few thousand people because a spontaneous march broke out in the direction of where my car was parked. We chanted some, and at one time, some one was playing “St. Louis Blues” on a trumpet. A few of us started singing along. At one point, we all cheered together. Everyone talked to everyone else. We were brothers and sister in this life together, so we smiled. I can’t speak for others, but I felt HAPPY being a part of this spontaneous, love fest or party which required NO ALCOHOL. We stood together about 10,000 strong, which is good for a city with about 200,000 of us. All that was required for all of us to be there was to be human! For me this Women’s March was not marching AGAINST anyone except the haters and people who promote division between people; it was about marching FOR ALL of us.

This is what was said about some of the sister marches across the USA and in LA:

http://www.snopes.com/2017/01/22/hundreds-thousands-attend-womens-march-los-angeles/

Standard

One thought on “Standing Together in a BIG WAY

Leave a Reply

