Keeping the FAITH

img_0896

Last week about midweek, I was tormented during the night thinking I needed to fix the world and this country, in particular. I kept waking up feeling like I should do more to somehow prevent what was happening in this country I love. By the next day or two, I had the great opportunity to learn to have faith.

I have always loved learning about history, and I learned to love history in high school from a great teacher, Mr. Garfield. Now I live in a town where many of the streets are named after the presidents of the USA. I always feel great when I drive passed "Madison" Ave. I love President Madison for what he did to fix our US Constitution- he added the "Bill of Rights" to our U.S. Constitution. If you don't remember it, that is what is protecting all of us Americans right now. So now, I have faith that the US Constitution is going to protect us. And it is because we have a government with three branches of government, including a judicial branch, which came through for refugees and people who were trying to return to the USA with valid green cards and found out that they were from the wrong country last week. Because I live in a country which tends to follow the law (although with certain groups, justice has not always worked well and still needs to improve), I can sigh relief and let go of worry. I can have faith that I live in a country where not just one person can be a dictator.

I can have faith, too, that most people tend to try to do the right thing. This week I heard an old “Radio Lab” show called “The Good Show” about the goodness in most people. Try to listen to the entire show. I found this an uplifting show about the nature of most people. I needed the reminder.

http://www.radiolab.org/story/103951-the-good-show/?utm_source=local&utm_medium=treatment&utm_campaign=daMost&utm_content=damostviewed

I also have faith because I have a source that I go to. For me, that source has many names: God, the universe, a higher power, the great mystery, the energy that connects all of us (even if we are not aware of it), the God particle. All those names are one thing to me. When I can humble myself and surrender that I do not have answers or control hardly anything, I give my concerns and go to my source. Then I am free and much happier. When I look back on my whole life, I have always been connected and protected by my source, even if I was not aware of that protection at that time. Now I can see the connection and protection that happened at the times when I was in challenging situations. It was when I did NOT have FAITH, I made choices for my life that were detrimental. Even in making those unhealthy choices, at the time, often something very good and wonderful came into my life. Even the unhealthy choices when I was willing and humble to LEARN about myself and my part helped me to reflect on what I did, so that I now live with more gratitude, joy, and happiness most of the time.

I found this TED talk about FAITH that I can support. It is by Tom Honey “Why Would GOD Create a Tsunami?”

Another lesson in faith came in late October of 2016, when my mother died. After she had passed, my siblings, daughter, and nieces and grand nieces found in her books as we sorted through them scriptures that my mother had read that most of us were not aware of. Even though my mother’s twin sister had died 13 years earlier in a different state than my mother, and my mother had not gone to her sister’s service because my father was wheelchair bound (they were both 85 years old), my mother requested that the same scriptures that her twin sister had had read at her memorial service be read at my own mother’s service. This, to me, is God at work. My own mother’s connection to this scripture and the beauty and comfort that this scripture provides has now been passed on to me. I am finally aware of this scripture, and read it when I need it and so does my daughter.

Today, I read about some of my fellow Americans online. I am so proud of and have FAITH in you and us because so many people were calling the White House this week. We clogged the phone lines like never before. This is citizen activism at its best. Yeah!

I have borrowed the title of this blog somewhat from talk show host, Tavis Smiley, who is on PBS. This is a youtube video of him explaining why he says “Keep the Faith” at the end of every show he makes. I love the explanation and find it relates to this blog. Thank You, Tavis Smiley.

Standard

Leave a Reply

